Most helpful review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Outrageous pricing

AJ Perri - Outrageous pricing
I called A.J. Perri to replace a faucet in my bathroom. I had purchased the faucet so the estimate was for installation only. The quoted price was $546.00 and included a 10% discount. I thought it was a mistake but it was not. Their pricing is beyond excessive. There is absolutely no reason you can give to charge $546 for less than an hours workAngry I didnt have the work done and will find someone else. Only positive was how nice the tech was and he has no control over the companys greed.

User's recommendation: Do NOT use A.J. Perri.

View full review
ID
#3570899 Review #3570899 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Wall, New Jersey
Service
Aj Perri Plumbing Service
Pros
  • Employees are nice
  • Customer service team and the sales guy
Cons
  • Felt conned
Loss
$119
New Reviewer

You guys install the new $8000 Unit without changing the filter now the units not working correctly

AJ Perri - You guys install the new $8000 Unit without changing the filter now the units not working correctly
AJ Perri - You guys install the new $8000 Unit without changing the filter now the units not working correctly
You guys installed a $8000 unit and never change $10 filter now my AC is not working correctly they came out three times and couldnt figure that out!
View full review
ID
#3631764 Review #3631764 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Newark, New Jersey
Pros
  • 5 ton ac unit i believe
Loss
$8
Preferred solution
I would like sufficient air in all parts of my home with a 5 ton $8000 unit, It was purchased over a year ago only

Had to use Better Business Bureau of New Jersey to get resolved!

Buyer Beware! Very High Prices! Very Poor communication! Poor workmanship. Would not recommend to anyone for anything.

User's recommendation: Do Not Recommend.

View full review
ID
#3496746 Review #3496746 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Cons
  • Very poor customer service
  • Very high prices
Preferred solution
Written letter stating exactly why it took 4 months of waiting for a resolution!

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Can't get their 100% UNCONDITIONAL Money back refund

Purchased their over priced AC unit in November 2021 and found out in March 2022 they don't do the AC vents at all! They also clean fiberglass vents which are not supposed to be cleaned! Now fighting with them to get my 100% UNCONDITIONAL MONEY BACK GUARANTEE (still within a year) Just want my money back and their equipment out so I can get it replaced properly.

User's recommendation: RUN from AJ Perri.

View full review
ID
#3393404 Review #3393404 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Pros
  • Did the job fast
Cons
  • Felt conned
  • Poor customer service
Loss
$12
Preferred solution
Full refund

They do not stand behind their service. I have had the same damper replaced on my furnace in the last 5 years and it is broken again. Their response is it will be $119 for technician to come and look.

They do not stand behind their own work. I have been with this company for over twenty years. As soon as this service contract is over I am going to another more reliable company

User's recommendation: Go to another company. This one has gotten too big to care about their customers.

View full review
ID
#3343558 Review #3343558 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Spring Lake, New Jersey
Preferred solution
Repair or replace defective equipment

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Broken boiler

Called AJ Perri for boiler maintenance. Found out they sent a salesman to do the maintenance. Said the PSI should be at 30 and did a manual fill and wound up causing problems with the autofill part and don't know what else he broke. 30 minutes after he left I had water all over the garage. Don't know what else he broke. Waiting for a TRAINED tech to repair. And the price I was quoted by the second AJ Perri was actually 3Xs more than the quote I received from a recommend tech.

User's recommendation: DON'T CALL THEM!!!

View full review
ID
#3009528 Review #3009528 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Having a bloated estimated for work
  • Ridiculous pricing i did my homework
  • Deceitful estimate
Loss
$1100
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Very bad service

The outside a/c unit kept occasionally tripping the circuit breaker upon startup. Called for service and the "tech" finally showed up at 9 at night (9 hours late). Barely touched the unit except for checking to see if it had power, he said it was too dark to take it apart to check the compressor or fan. I explained that it was on its own circuit and cooled and ran fine. So we start the unit up and the circuit breaker tripped so he could see the problem. He tried blaming it on the 15 amp breaker, should be 30 amp he says, I said 15 amp is what the specs called for from the manufacturer. The air handler is on its own 15 amp circuit. So is the furnace. So he didn't test the fan or condenser or the capacitors. What he did do is by pass the capacitors, the unit ran anyway. So he pokes at the wiring he disconnected and shorted out the unit, (big flash and sparks), now it wouldn't start at all. Goes back to the truck and gets a new fuse puts the wiring back together as he found it. Then claims as a diagnoses that the unit is old and probably runs hot is the cause of the breaker tripping. I've run the a/c for 13 years and with no problems until now. On the invoice states the condenser was shorted as the work performed. So he's claiming the short he caused as the problem and solution. So if Simon shows up at your door don't let him touch a thing and don't pay him. Very incompetent.Do not hire AJ Perri
View full review
ID
#2905762 Review #2905762 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Trane Air Conditioner
Pros
  • Lady who scheduled was nice
Cons
  • Didnt do a full diagnosis
Loss
$106
Preferred solution
Refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Terrible service

Original review updated by user Aug 22, 2021
they came out to hoboken for an estimate of a leaking tub spout. they ordered the part(s) and set-up the second appointment. on two occasions (day of or day before appointment) they called to say could not make the appointment because of other higher priority jobs. the day of the job (the third time) they leave a message saying they do not perform work in cities where they have to pay for parking. in actuality, they were too lazy to find a parking spot and used this an excuse to back out of the job after 2 weeks of jerking us around. They had already been to the house once before to do the estimate so obviously they do business in the city of Hoboken. An extremely unethical and unreliable company.

User's recommendation: Avoid at All Costs.

View full review
ID
#2798999 Review #2798999 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Unethical and unreliable

A good experience

a few weeks ago a guy named pete from aj perri came to clear my house sewer trap. he was exceptionally professional and he didn't leave a mess, which is an triple plus. he was so clean that you would have thought he didn't do a thing, i don't know he he did it.
View full review
ID
#2480537 Review #2480537 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Somerset, New Jersey

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Very Poor Customer Service and Workmanship - LESS THAN 1 STAR

PSEG and another plumbing company were called to fix new problems caused by AJ Perri. AJ Perri came to my home to address a noise involving boiler on 3 different occasions. By the time they were finish working, I had 2 new water leaks and a gas leak. So disappointed and frustrated. Poor customer service and workmanship. In addition, one of the serviceman requested to use my bathroom and it smelled foul when he exited. Room smelled really bad and had to aired out. Requested a callback from management and never received a callback.

User's recommendation: Avoid this company at all costs. Poor customer service and workmanship.

View full review
ID
#2392142 Review #2392142 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Aj Perri Furnace Repair
Cons
  • You suck
  • Technicians are not qualified
Preferred solution
The refund we agreed upon and nothing else.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

No confirmation

Update by user Nov 04, 2020

AJPerri never sent a confirmation of 5 years promised service on the air conditioning unit, it was simply a discussion over the phone. So we will see what transpires in the Spring when the first service will be due.

Original review posted by user Sep 28, 2020
New Air Conditioner installed, in mid June had issues in mid July through the beginning of August. Was promised 5 years' service starting 2021 on the unit gratis, for the 5 weeks of recurring problems which included having the unit turned off for up to 2 weeks during heat wave. Still waiting for confirmation either through email or snail mail as to the agreement made over the phone by the quality assurance manager. Nothing to date!

User's recommendation: get a second recommendation from another company before agreeing to purchase the higher priced units from AJPerri.

View full review
ID
#2195799 Review #2195799 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Service
Aj Perri Customer Care
Pros
  • Good sales pitch
  • Promise quality service and follow up
Cons
  • Poor customer service
  • Took advantage of customer
  • Scam artists
Loss
$130
Preferred solution
AJPerri promised 5years service to new air conditioning unit beginning 2021 but never followed up with email or written confirmation

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

No follow up from: Quality Assurance

Spoke with "Jane" Quality Assurance Manager on 9/17/20. She offered me a choice between 5 years free maintenance on my new Carrier Air Conditioner, or 3 years on both my air and heating unit. I chose the 5 years on the new air conditioning unit. I posted a review on "Pissed Consumer" social media sharing #218**** as well as your website since I haven't received an email or letter stating this agreement. Respectfully, Jan S.

User's recommendation: make sure you get a second opinion before signing agreement for job.

View full review
ID
#2195774 Review #2195774 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Laurelton, New Jersey

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Scam Artists

Update by user Sep 28, 2020

Thus far I have not received any confirmation of the agreement the quality assurance manager made to me over the phone.

Original review posted by user Sep 23, 2020
Bought a new air conditioner, since old one (10yrs) was leaking. Was told it would cost $3000 to fix the old unit, so I opted to purchase a new one. Installed 3 days later, wires looped in circles in attic, some pipes were left exposed, basically it was a sloppy installation. This new unit cost $13,000 with all the bells and whistles. The salesman assured me he was doing everything to get down to his final sales price. Cost $5000 more than the unit they were replacing. Stupidly I agreed to buy it. Let's take advantage of the 77yr old women who during a heat wave wants to trust the salesman. And then all *** breaks loose! Now its up to the warranty specialists to come into fix the new unit which freezes over, it took them a month to resolve it. Six visits later, 3 service men, rewired unit, replaced 3 thermostats, only to be told I need a New Board which I had to wait another week for, in 80 degree weather. Well to make a long story shorter, it now works. But I need to have a new heating unit installed AJPerri would of course come to the rescue for $9,999.00 with all the discounts" they would be able to install it immediately. I chose to go with another company who quoted a price substantially lower. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, Not This Time!!!

User's recommendation: Steer Clear.

View full review
ID
#2186033 Review #2186033 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Service
Aj Perri Air Conditioner Replacement
Pros
  • Quality assurance girls were pleasant
  • Warranty technicians were good
Cons
  • Original installation was sloppy
  • Temperature dropped to 58 degrees
  • Air conditioner coils were frozen
Preferred solution
5 years service on newly installed air conditioner
New Reviewer

Terrible Service..NO customer service..Overpriced...Poor Install

Paid $11k for install of new furnace and air conditioner. Was given an install date..My renter had to take two days off work, as they did not schedule install on date provided on my contract.. Installed...NO THERMASTAT installed? Called to speak with supervisory manager...It has been two days. No return call...I am still waiting... Go to anyone else...NOT AJ PERRI.....

User's recommendation: NOT NOT USE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES.

View full review
1 comment
#1927600

FULLY AGREE, OVERPRICED, OVER RATED

ID
#2113229 Review #2113229 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Middletown Township, New Jersey
Cons
  • Poor customer service
Loss
$1500
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Garbage products and services

$13k and the unit worked correctly for 2 months. They can't seem to fix it after 4 service calls.

User's recommendation: Avoid.

View full review
ID
#2042796 Review #2042796 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Cons
  • Price
  • Real rip off priced way high for work performed
Preferred solution
Full refund
WE ORIGINAL Y CALLED;PSE&;;;;;;;;;;G , AND WAS TOLD THAT THE SYSTEM NEEDED A NEW FILTER AT THE COMPRESSOR BUT THEY DON'T DO THAT WORK . SO WE CALLED PERRI AND WERE TOLD THE SERVICE WOULD BE 89.99 WE SAID OK . WHEN THE GUY CAME OUT , HE IMMEDIATELY STARTED TO TELL...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2018914 Review #2018914 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
East Brunswick, New Jersey

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article